Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

Type your question here...My 14 year old daughter and I rented a room from this lady who called herself the landlord. The house is old and hasnt been lived in for many years. There are holes in the all and the floor, spider webs everywhere, broken indows and doors, doors didnt lock, the plumming was ood though. They turned on the electricity but there was no hot water. I needed a place to live right away and I didnt have much money. So, I thought maybe I could make her a eal because my husband is a retired drywall contractor nd the lady wanted to fix up this house which was up for ale and if it sold it would be a short sale. The deal was that my husband would paint the room I was to live in and fix it up enough to where social services would be satisfied. And wouldnt have to pay rent until the 1st of July 2013. And my husband told her that he will paint and fix the other wo rooms and the hallway and the holes in the wall for my $600 deposit. And I told her that I will give her $100 on Friday when I move in and the lrest of my rent on the 1st f July which was to be $500 more. She agreed and wrote up a contract and a rental agreement that we signed. We moved in on Friday, June 28, 2013. My husband painted he two rooms and all he had to do was patch up the holes in othe wall and paint the hallway. Then Sunday evening my daughter smoked some pot in the house with a friend hile I was in the shower. The landlord came over to the house and just walked and smelled the pot and saw my aughter and her friend run from her. So she kicked my aughter and I out that night it was close to 10pm. I told her ok, but I felt that it was illegal for her to do that. I alled my husband and told him so he came over and put s much as he could in the truck and told her that we have o come back in the morning to get the rest of our stuff because it is late and he told her that he wants a copy or ur rental agreement and a copy of the contract. The next ayu we came to get my stuff and the landlord gave me back my $100 but she wouldnt give us a copy of our rental greement or a copy of our contract. My husband told her hat she needs to pay him for the work he did and she said no, she doesnt.

s the landlord right or is she doing something illegal here?

Asked on 7/20/13, 7:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

George Shers Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The landlady should have given you a three day notice to vacate for an illegal act. The rental itself appears to be illegal because of the lack of hot water.

Read more
7/21/13, 4:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now