California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
My wife and I receved unlawful detainers by posting. (Foreclosure related) The County clerk told me that no permission was given for posting. On Monday the 16th, there will be a Hearing. Is it too late to file a Motion to Quash? Any advise is helpful at this point.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Melvin C. Belli |
The day this was posted is the 18th so I assume since you said the hearing is Monday it is next Monday not the 16th which has passed. First question what type of hearing is it? Without knowing that it is hard to advise you what you can do. If you want to file a motion to quash I would do it before the hearing on Monday so the court knows something is up. If you re-post with the type of hearing on Monday we can maybe give you some more guidance. Posting of the summons and complaint is usually only allowed were defendant is evading service and has to be done at a conspicuous place on property. Then a copy of the summons and complaint has to be mailed to you. I had a case where they posted the summons and complaint claiming defendant was dodging service and then mailed to property address. Only problem was defendant didn't receive mail there because they don'’t deliver to address but instead to a PO Box where is was not sent. The defendant truly never got a copy of the complaint. They should have been able to set default aside and quash service but failed to raise that point and therefore lost. I hate the banks and what they have done to this county, so why don’t you give me a call and we can discuss this further for free. Good luck and hope this helps and feel free to give me a call.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


