California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 4:54 pm

Legal Question


Will be paying this months rent 25 days late, next months rent on time. Landlords states if not payed within three days of due date, he may proceed with eviction. Is this true?


question bubble
11/20/09, 5:11 pm

Legal Answer


If you are late on a rent payment, the landlord may serve a 3-Day Notice to Pay. Your 3 days starts when you are served with the notice. After the 3 days pass, if you haven't paid, the landlord may proceed with an unlawful detainer action.

Mark Saltzman, MBA, JD

Law Offices of Mark E. Saltzman 18321 Ventura Blvd, Suite 530 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 5:19 pm

Legal Answer


In addition to what Mr. Saltzman states, the landlord is not obligated to accept any rent from you -- past or present -- once the three days in the written notice have expired.

Robert F. Cohen

Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 5:29 pm

Legal Answer


.I agree yes he can. He starts by serving you with the 3 day notice to pay or quit. Then you have three days to pay or move. If you do neither then he can file an unlawful detainer to evict you. Then you might have to pay additional fees such as court fees and attorney's fees if he decided to let you stay, but he is under no obligation becaue you breached the lease by failing to pay on time.

I would suggest talking to him to see what you can work out so you don't get sued.

Hope this helps and good

Melvin C. Belli

The Belli Law Firm 35 Miller Ave Suite 199 Mill Valley, CA 94941

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search