California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/05/09, 9:16 am

Legal Question


i have a one year contract with my landlord but, now she put the property into short sale do i still need to pay my rnt and what happen to my contract which suppose to end next year of August


question bubble
11/10/09, 10:28 am

Legal Answer


Legally, you're still obligated to pay. Make sure to keep a copy of your rent check and any receipt. The new owner takes the property subject to the rental agreement. Make sure to cooperate with the new owner if you're asked about the terms of your tenancy.

Robert F. Cohen

Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
P.O. Box 15896
San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search