California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
5/09/09, 12:42 pm

Legal Question


Attorney died

Hi!

What happens if an attorney dies?

The Lawyer who was representing me lately died and all his cases including mine were given to another law firm. The problem is - they decline the fact that I paid for certain services up front and don't want to represent me anymore. I checked my document and discovered that I have written agreement with my previous lawyer that includes an amount paid by me, but does not specify exactly what services he should provide for that money. So what should I do now? Forget about that money? Or is there another way to get at least partial refund for my money since my case is not over yet.

I live in California, if that matters.

Thanks, I appreciate your answer.

Anna


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search