California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
1/27/10, 1:15 pm

Legal Question


I have hired an attorney to represent me in a case against the FDIC. I have a retainer agreement to pay hourly rate $375. "We will not exceed 10 hours of work without your authorization." I paid $3750 plus about $600 fees over one year ago.

My attorney has called several times and mentioned he was hired on contingency basis. I was not sure and reread our agreement. I said I thought I paid a flat fee. He corrected me and said flat fee was for a small case where there was a set fee and the whole job would be done. He said he was on an hourly basis. OK, I agreed.

My case is before the judge. My attorney sent me a bill asking me to pay $11,556. I have never authorized work exceeding 10 hours. I asssumed my retainer was enough to cover his work till now since he never asked to do work beyond 10 hours. I am very nervous. What do I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search