California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
12/19/01, 2:43 pm

Legal Question


Legal use of multiple names

After I was married, I legally changed my last name to my husband's name. I would now like to use my maiden name for professional business purposes and my married name for personal business. Is it legal for me to sign binding business contracts using my maiden name even though my legal name (driver's license, ssn, etc.) is my married name? Can I just begin using my maiden name for professional business or do I need to go through the name change process?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search