California  |  Legal Ethics

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/24/11, 4:20 pm

my mother lives in a sober living home across the street from my family and i. I was recently told by one of the directors that my mom can no longer come over that neither houses are to communicate with each other is this legal?

2 Answers


Answered on: 8/24/11, 4:22 pm by Joel Selik

It sounds like a condition of the house for her to remain in that sober living house. And, yes, thats legal.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


www.SelikLaw.com Box 1448 San Diego And Las Vegas, CA 92079

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/24/11, 11:25 pm by Timothy McCormick

I agree. Private facilities can set pretty much any conditions they want on allowing a resident to be in their facility. Sounds like rather than looking for legal angles you should look at why a facility with no interests other than helping your mother stay sober doesn't want her around you. In other words, sounds like you or someone in your household needs to get clean and sober themselves.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search