California | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
What is the process by which an attorney withdraws as attorney of record? Do they have to file a motion to withdraw or just complete the notice of withdrawal?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
The attorney may ask a client to sign a substitution of attorney. If the client does, that's all that's needed once it's filed with the court and a copy is served on opposing counsel.
If the client refuses to sign, the attorney will file a motion seeking a court order permitting the attorney to withdraw. The client would be provided notice of the hearing on the motion. Typically, a court would not require the attorney to continue representing a client unless a trial is imminent and the client would suffer severe prejudice by the withdrawal. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Matthew C. Mickelson
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 210
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


