California | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
We retained an attorney to help us with our guardianship (minor) case. We were pretty much at a standstill as nothing was being done in court at that present time. During this time, he was indicted and convicted (disbarred) for inappropriate conduct with his female clients, etc. Our bill was paid and current. So because of his wrong doings, he had to file a Substitution of Attorney for all his clients. In turn, he sent us a bill for over $100 and said once it was paid, he would release our file to us. In his letter he stated it would be released either in person or by mail. Later, we were told only by mail. Since this was his wrongdoings which created this filing, are we obligated to pay him for filing this and is he able to withhold our file until this is paid? We are going to file for an adoption. Personally, I know that for the filing and service by mail doesn't warrant an amount of $128.00 plus interest, late fees, etc. Should we contact BAR?
Top Areas of Law


