California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
2/14/06, 12:45 am

Legal Question


Solicitation

I have had a site on Law Guru for a while. I would answer questions and then sometimes refer them to my office if I believed that I can help them further.

I received an email from another lawyer on Law Guru who cc'd Law Guru and he said that he is reporting me to the State Bar under Model Rule, 813.

I thought the idea of Law Guru was to answer questions and as a way to increase my business.

Is my career over? Did I actually do something wrong that should warrant discipline from the State Bar? What can I expect. Please note that I always see other attorneys writing things like, ''If you need further help, please feel free to call my office at, 555....''

I had no idea I was in violation. It's not worth losing my license or facing discipline over unlawful solicitation. In fact, it is never worth committing any violation. I worked way too hard to get where I am today.

Please advise.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search