California | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
I am being Sued for showing ppv boxing match at restaurant can they prove it and what are my options?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Bakondi |
There may be some exceptions to the law and some defenses. I would speak to an attorney immediately, and certainly before saying anything to the other side. If a lawsuit has been filed and served, you must respond in a limited amount of time, ex: 30 days from the date of service, or less. Otherwise, you will lose the case. Also, most attorneys need time to prepare a response, so do not wait. Hire either me or another attorney immediately.
Best,
Attorney Daniel Bakondi, Esq.
danielbakondi@yahoo.com
415-450-0424
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi 870 Market Street, Suite 1161 San Francisco CA 94102
IMPORTANT NOTICE: This communication may contain confidential information, privileged information, or attorney work product. If you are not the intended recipient or received this message in error, any use or distribution of this message is strictly prohibited and unlawful. Please notify the sender immediately, and delete this message. No attorney-client nor confidential relationship is created through this communication. Nothing communicated or provided constitutes legal advice nor a legal opinion unless it so specifies and written agreement for attorney services has been entered into. Your issue may be time sensitive and may result in loss of rights if you do not act in time. Thank you.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Stone |
Actually, since you're being sued in federal court, you only have 20 days to respond. Fortunately these kinds of lawsuits can often be successfully defended or settled. Like attorney Bakondi said, you're going to have to hire an attorney. I've defended lots of these types of lawsuits in the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California, which is where your case is. Better get a move on -- 20 days is like the blink of an eye. The deadline is computed from the day you received notice of the lawsuit. If you are up against the deadline already, and you were to retain me, the first thing I would do would be to have the deadline extended. Do not call the plaintiffs lawyer and do not believe anything they tell you. Do not get your legal advice from friends or relatives, only from a licensed California attorney that you yourself consult. If you don't respond to the lawsuit in exactly the right way, the next paper you get will be a default judgment informing you of how many thousands of dollars you owe. You can email me directly from the Contact Me page at mikestonelaw.com . |
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Bakondi |
It could be 20 days from service - that is why I said 30 days or less and to hire an attorney immediately - you never wait on these things. Find a qualified lawyer you like and trust.
Best,
Daniel Bakondi, Esq.
See disclaimer above.
Best,
Attorney Daniel Bakondi, Esq.
danielbakondi@yahoo.com
415-450-0424
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi
870 Market Street, Suite 1161
San Francisco CA 94102
IMPORTANT NOTICE: This communication may contain confidential information, privileged information, or attorney work product. If you are not the intended recipient or received this message in error, any use or distribution of this message is strictly prohibited and unlawful. Please notify the sender immediately, and delete this message. No attorney-client nor confidential relationship is created through this communication. Nothing communicated or provided constitutes legal advice nor a legal opinion unless it so specifies and written agreement for attorney services has been entered into. Your issue may be time sensitive and may result in loss of rights if you do not act in time. Thank you. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Matthew C. Mickelson
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 210
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


