California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
11/01/09, 12:32 am

Legal Question


I work at a grooming salon and I offered to pick up a customers pet and bring him to work with me for his normal grooming service then I take him back home when I get off work. My manager found out and was very upset with me and told me I could not because our company would be liable if I were to get into a car accident and the pet were to die. I feel that I would be liable not the company I work for because I am transporting the animal off the clock. It is something I am doing as a favor for my customer. who is right me or my manager. Please let me know. Thank you.


question bubble
11/06/09, 4:56 am

Legal Answer


Your manager is correct. Even if you were working off the clock, you would be holding yourself out to the public as an employee of the salon. Therefore, if there were an accident, the pet's human companion would look to the company for compensation.

Robert F. Cohen

Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search