California  |  Legal Malpractice

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/25/10, 11:35 am

My attorney is representing me on a contingency basis. The retainer agreement states the division is 1/3 for attorney, 2/3 for client, and costs taken off after the division of award. I asked him if he would consider the costs being taken before the 1/3 - 2/3 division, as this means more money for me, of course. He has agreed to this in emails. I asked him if he could change the retainer and we sign it again to reflect this updated distribution of fees and costs. He said it is not necessary to rewrite the retainer agreement as his emails spell out the new distribution and they sufffice. I am concerned when there is an award he will revert to his retainer and tell me the emails were not enough. Do I need a new retainer or is it enough he's emailed me he agrees to the new distribution with cost off the top, rather than after the 1/3 - 2/3 division of the award?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search