California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
8/03/10, 5:09 pm

Legal Question


My dad passed away and we are receiving a settlement for abuse and neglect from the two hosptials that cared for him. Is this settlement....roughtly $200k taxable? Does the same hold true for wrongful death?


question bubble
8/08/10, 5:31 pm

Legal Answer


It's a question of how the settlement is termed. Wrongful death, i.e. compensation for the loss of his affection and society, taxable. Compensation for bodily injuries to him during his lifetime including his pain and suffering, nontaxable (except possibly as part of his estate). Your own competent attorney should know how to set up the settlement with the respective insurance companies so that it is non-taxable to the extent possible.

Michael Stone

Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE 3020 Old Ranch Parkway, Suite 300 Seal Beach, CA 90740

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
8/09/10, 3:43 pm

Legal Answer


This is not a legal malpractice question.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search