California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
6/15/00, 1:27 am

Legal Question


Lawyer settles case and never pays anything to client

In 1995, I had a slip and fall accident at Sea World in San Diego, CA. I hired an attorney. The case settled out of court in 1998 for the amount of $1,750.. An amount I was pressured into accepting by my attorney. I did not want to accept it becasue it would not even cover the medical bills, not to mention loss of wages, pain and suffering, etc.

I never recieved any amount of the $1,750. I had called my lawyer several times and never ot a return phone call, and was treated very badly by the office personell. I even sent a letter and it went unanswered.

I contacted Sea Worlds lawyers to be sure it had indeed been settled, they provided paperwork stating that it had. I also called my doctors offices to see if the bills had been paid, they had NOT.

What can I do to collect this money? Can I sue a lawyer? Who would take such a case on- with out payment up front? Can I sue for interest and for more than the amount my case settled for becasue of my inconvience and their being unprofessional?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search