Legal Question in Legal Malpractice in California

My mother had an aneurysm in 1998, during her hospital stay , she was in dementia and had lost the use of her legs. She was in a hospital bed under restraints. She was moved to another hospital for physical therapy. The nurses were instructed not to release the restraints because she was unaware she couldn't walk. I had accompanied her to the new hospital and also informed the head nurse not to release the restraints. I left and when I got home , the hospital called me to inform the one of the nurses released the restraints and my mother got outs of bed and tried to walk to the bathroom. She immediately fell to the floor and broke her hip. My mother eventually regain control over her legs (6 months later) and was released. Now 15 years later, her hip is giving her a lot of mobility issues. Has the statue of limitations run out on any type of claim she could file? She lives in Sacramento, California. Thank You.

Asked on 2/20/13, 11:18 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, the statute ran long ago. She had one year from the injury to bring a claim.

Read more
2/20/13, 11:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Malpractice Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now