California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
10/20/09, 2:38 pm

Legal Question


I am president of HOA, the treasure do negative movements to the HOA, but she hire a company for liens she said is free, they will not charge HOA only to the owners, now she is asking for paper to put 12 units on sale due to deliquency of the owners, as a board we did not discuse that, she just send the email and I am not sure if this is a legal practice, please guide were can I go for help I need to know before I agree


question bubble
10/21/09, 1:48 am

Legal Answer


As a Board member you have many duties including the duty to exercise reasonable care when you make a decision for the organization. if you do not, you could expose the HOA and yourself to liability. I suggest you retain legal counsel for Board to guide you as you have some serious issues that you need counsel on. As a starting point you should review the Davis Sterling Act.

Bryan Becker

Becker Attorneys 1205 Prospect St., Suite 400 La Jolla, CA 92037

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search