California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
9/30/09, 11:13 pm

Legal Question


what recourse do I have?

2 years ago my wife and I had a business that was falling so we sought out legal advise on what to do. We hired an atorney to advise us on closeing the business and pr bankruptsy cost was approximately $7,000 dollars. ! year later I find out my wife and the lawyer who is also married are haveing an affair>


question bubble
9/30/09, 11:15 pm

Legal Answer


You can sue the lawyer possibly.

Call me.

Joel Selik

www.SelikLaw.com Box 1448 San Diego And Las Vegas, CA 92079

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/01/09, 12:08 pm

Legal Answer


What the attorney did may be unethical and could be reported to the State Bar. On the issue of legal malpractice, the question is did he cause you any damages as a result of his conduct. If so, you could sue him for malpractice. However, there are statutes of limitiations involved with legal malpractice claims so if you decide to do something, you should contact an attorney experienced in legal malpractice claims right away.

Steven Kuhn

Steven Kuhn 31878 Del Obispo Street Suite 118-360 San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/01/09, 1:12 pm

Legal Answer


While the affair is ground for you to complain to the state bar association, unless you've suffered financial or other damage in the legal work he performed, there is not necessarily a 'malpractice' case.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/01/09, 2:03 pm

Legal Answer


Yes you have grounds for suit, Negligent Infliction of Emotional Distress, assuming that this has caused you severe emotional distress. This is due to the fact that he owed you a duty not to violate ethical rules. Contact me directly.

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES 2185 Sunset Cliffs Blvd. San Diego, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search