California | Mediation
Legal Question
Dear Mr. Kuhn, in regards to: “I recently went to mediation on an underinsured motorist personal injury case … ” my attorney, the mediator and I had a very frank discussion during mediation on the meaning of “new money”. We agreed it meant “without credits for payments already made” and/or “a settlement “on top of” payments already made”; does not the meaning of “new money” weigh heavily in the outcome of this settlement?
Legal Answer
Yes, from what you are saying "New Money" would mean over and above what was paid before. This is what your settlement would be unless there is something out there that I am not understanding. Was there an agreement signed? If so, it should spell it out in the agreement.
Steven Kuhn 31878 Del Obispo Street Suite 118-360 San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
► Other answers from this attorney

