California  |  Mediation

question bubble
9/04/08, 2:00 pm

Legal Question


Partition

I have been with my partner for 25 years, living together for 15 years he asked me to marry him then he backed out. Now we are going through a separation but we have accumulated 2 homes and a business together. He moved out of one of our properties and now wants to trade residences. I am not feeling good about what his intentions might be. I made a list of things that I would like to trade out of both houses and I will consider moving. He wants me to leave everything so he can sell the house and then he said after it is sold I can take them. I know that won't be the case he is sneaky and not the least bit honest. Is common law still i effect. He is telling me that I don't have any rights. Our business is 50/50 owners and he holds the title President is he entitled to more money than me after our separation. We have always shared the money even though I gave him a larger sum, because the loans on the properties were in his name. I am on the deed on both properties. I am anxious to hear your reply. He is trying to use a scare tactic on me and is getting angrier by the minute that I won't move.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search