California  |  Mediation

question bubble
10/23/09, 7:21 pm

Legal Question


In the state of CA if there is no signed power of attorney and the person is unable to make decisions on their own, does the next of kin automatically assume this role?


question bubble
10/28/09, 7:49 pm

Legal Answer


No you must file for a conservatorship in probate court. Contact me directly.

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES 2185 Sunset Cliffs Blvd. San Diego, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/28/09, 8:11 pm

Legal Answer


No. You'll have to apply for a guardianship or conservatorship to gain such authority. If serious about doing so, feel free to contact me to discuss the facts and costs.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search