California | Native American Law
Legal Question
Are American Indian tribal lands exempt from state medical board laws and controls?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
California is one of the "Public Law 280" states, and as such Congress has delegated to it authority to enforce and administer state laws and regulations that are criminal or prohibitory laws in nature, as opposed to civil or regulatory, where state authority is quite limited.
Based on a review of decisions applying P.L. 280 (18 USCA 1162), I'd conclude that since there are significant penal aspects to practicing medicine, etc. without a license, many medical licensing laws would apply to Indians on Indian Country to the same extent they would apply to non-Indians off the reservation.
This is not to say that every "medical board law or control" would apply, but I'm pretty sure, for example, that one would need a pharmacists' license to dispense prescription drugs.
I did not find a whole lot of directly-applicable decisions, so this is somewhat of a guess based on decisions relating to other activities. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12208
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Offices of Thomas F. Gallagher
San Diego,
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-23
Gallagher, Krich & Bobrow APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
Finestone & Richter
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-30
Law Office of Julian Summers
Indio, CA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-27
Watkins Firm, APC
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


