California | Native American Law
Legal Question
How?
HOW can i get payed for being Native American what steps do i take first?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: How? To be eligible for tribal benefits, you need to be admitted as a member by the governing council. Each tribe has its own requirements (as to percentage "blood" of that tribe and other factors, sometimes including whether you reside on the reservation or not. They also have different requirements for proving your heritage. Your starting point is therefore to contact the tribe and talk to the person in change of membership.
If you are already an enrolled tribal member, you should contact the tribe's information office or whatever department sounds like it fits your problem (schooling, health, profit share from tribal enterprises, or whatever).
To the extent there are benefits available through the Bureau of Indian Affairs or other U.S. or state government sources, I think enrolling as a tribal member is still step one. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Offices of Thomas F. Gallagher
San Diego,
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-23
Gallagher, Krich & Bobrow APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
Finestone & Richter
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-30
Law Office of Julian Summers
Indio, CA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-27
Watkins Firm, APC
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


