California | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Accident from police chasing suspect.
A friend of mine was driving some last Sunday and was t-boned by a guy who was being pursued by the police dept at 90mph on a surface street, his vehicle was totalled and was taken to the hospital after the officers made no effort for 10 mins to check on him. He will now have high medical bills, he lost his truck, and cannot work right now because he works for himself and does construction type work on a small scale, he's having severe pains still, the suspect was driving a ''stolen'' vehicle that was not reported stolen until AFTER the incident so his insurance company says they have no one to go after, the police were pursuing this person for a traffic infraction. One attorney advised that he cannot sue the police department or the city and he just has to take his losses. Is there anything he can do? Can the police chase people with no regard for public safety and ruin peoples lives and be free of liability? I have some suspicions that the suspect has some sort of connection to the female r/o of the truck, as the ''stolen'' vehicle was a 2000 Chevrolet which has transponder keys and you cannot ''peel'' the columns on those vehicles. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as my friend is extremely worried about the future.
Experienced Mesothelioma Attorneys - SEG Law
Simon, Eddins & Greenstone, LLP, (SEG Law) is one of the country's most prominent trial law firms specializing in representing victims of cancer caused from exposure to hazardous substances such as asbestos. The firm was built on a shared passion to diligently and compassionately serve each client through every step of the legal process.


