California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
1/03/08, 10:42 pm

Legal Question


Class Action Question

I live in the state of California and I would like to try and find out if there are any Class Actions against Medi-Cal or Denti-Cal as I feel I have become a abused victim.


Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys


question bubble
1/04/08, 1:03 am

Legal Answer


Re: Class Action Question

You can search the Clerk's offices in all of of the counties in the State. You can proably do this yourself on line for a fee. Or you can have an attorney or private investigator do it for you for a fee.

Mitchell Roth

MW Roth, Professional Law Corporation 13245 Riverside Dr. Suite 320 Sherman Oaks, CA 91423

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/04/08, 10:58 am

Legal Answer


Re: Class Action Question

Also, try to find an attorney, group of attorneys, law professor who handle this type of litigation and ask them. You might not get a complete list. Try calling the information officer at both departments and see if they will give you any information [can not hurt to try]. If none of that works, call up a firm that specializes in class actions and see if they have or know of such a list. But first go to an attorney for a free initial consultion and find out if you really have a case.

Even if you do, a class action is only when all members of the same group suffer similar injuries from the same act or series of acts. So suits about a company's stock being manipulated can be class actions, but the individual acts of one stock broker cheating you likely will not qualify as a class action. Remember also that in the typical class action, the lead plaintiff often gets very little in that a largely non-monetary settlement is worked out, there are large overhead costs to notify everyone, and what little cash is generated is substantially eaten away by attorney fees.

It probably also takes the case much longer to be resolved, limits you choice of attorneys since most can not afford to handle class actions, and somewhat turns you into a number for your attorney as opposed to his/her individual client.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/04/08, 6:24 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Class Action Question

Follow the excellent advice of Mr. Shers and Mr. Roth.

Robert L. Bennett

Law offices of Robert L. Bennett 2117 N. Baker St. Bakersfield, CA 93305

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search