California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
9/12/03, 2:15 pm

Legal Question


What estate is avail to sue when driver dies and his spouse dies also in the acc

My son was in a head on collision and very critically hurt. He broke feet, ankles, knees, pelvic, sternum, face and nose, and brain injury along with losing his spleen. He will never be able to walk without a cane at minimum. The driver that was at fault was killed instantly and his spouse that was also in the car died the next day. We are being told that because the spouse inherited their jointly held home upon her husbands death, and because the accident was not her fault but her husbands, that we cannot make a claim against her estate. The insurance that was carried which was 100K per accident is all that can be filed for and Medi-cal will take part of that.

At the time of the accident, the man became indebted to my son when he hit him. We are sorry that both prople died. We have been informed that there was no medical reason for the man to drive into my son's lane and hit him head-on. Is there any thing you could tell us, or any resource you could point us to, that would disagree with what we have been told?


Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search