California | Personal Injury
Legal Question
foreign object in a salad served by a hotel caused a fractured tooth
Is there a distinction between a foreign object in a salad (i.e. piece of glass) and a more natural one (i.e. olive pit)? The hotel claims no liability b/c the olive pit in the salad caused the injury. True?
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys
The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.
Legal Answer
Re: foreign object in a salad served by a hotel caused a fractured tooth
A natural object may be grounds for them to escape liability. But, were there olives in the salad? If not, it is still a foreign object. If there were, you would have a more difficult time with your case.
Law Offices of Jonathan G. Stein 5050 Laguna Blvd, Suite 112-325 Elk Grove, CA 95758
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Re: foreign object in a salad served by a hotel caused a fractured tooth
Regardless of what caused your injury, i.e., glass or olive pit, you may have a valid legal action to pursue. Just because an olive pit is tangentially related to the salad, does not mean they were not negligent in serving you the olive pit in your salad. This may sound strange, but do you still have the olive pit?
I would be willing to discuss some of the issues concerning your experience to see how I may be of assistance.
I offer prospective clients an initial consultation of 30 minutes for free.
I look forward to speaking with you.
Yours truly,
Bryan
Bryan C. Becker, Esq.
Principal
Law Office of Bryan C. Becker
The Koll Center
501 W. Broadway, Suite 800
San Diego, CA 92101
Toll Free: 877*201*8728
Direct: 619*400*4929
Fax: 619*400*4810
Member, National Association of Consumer Advocates
www.naca.net
Stutz Artiano Shinoff & Holtz 2488 Historic Decatur Road, Suite 200 San Diego, CA 92106
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Re: foreign object in a salad served by a hotel caused a fractured tooth
The law generally treats seeds, pits and the like as a natural hazard we all risk encountering when we eat certain types of food. If your salad included olives and the pit you describe was in one of them, you probably don't have a case.
Note that the reason the law works this way is not because an olive pit is "natural", but rather because it is something you could reasonably have expected to find in your salad. Rocks are also natural, but we don't think we risk finding rocks in our salads, and the hotel would most likely be liable had you been injured by a rock instead of an olive pit. But an olive pit in, say, an ice cream cone would be just as unforeseeable as a rock in a salad and would be treated the same way in court, despite being natural.
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500 Los Angeles, CA 90025
► Other answers from this attorney

