California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/31/09, 2:14 pm

Legal Question


I gave my desk top computer to a friend 7 weeks ago to fix. He's an information technology professional and at times works on the side on his friends computers. I've e-mailed, called, etc.. and no response. I've even resorted to having other friends call him and simply ask for some kind of update. At this point I just want the computer back fixed or not fixed. I'm still getting no response from him. What can I do at this point? I'm wondering if at this point, since I've requested the item back, and he has not complied, can you now assume this is "theft"? At this point he has the computer without my permission.


Car Accidents

We can help if you were hurt in a car accident.
My email address is RoyKohler.com

We work on a contingency fee basis. We don't get paid until we win.

Feel free to call me at (619) 442-0042

Roy Kohler
Attorney at Law

RoyKohler.com


question bubble
11/05/09, 2:34 pm

Legal Answer


It is not a theft. You can sue him is small claims court for replacement value of the computer. The value of used computers, as I understand it, is very low. The value of the data, programs etc on the computer would probably have more value than the computer itself. There is also the time required to reinstall the programs which could be included. The cost of small claims court is about $75 to the court for a filing fee and the fee to have him served. Anyone other than your self who is over 18 can serve him with the small claims complaint.

He may come into court and state that the computer could not be repaired. The hard drive could be used as a short cut to the install required for a new computer.

Most counties have a small court claims clinic. These clinics are generally free, and will provide an opportunity to review the facts of your case with the advisor.

Lyle Johnson

Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
152 N. Third Street, Suite 510
San Jose, CA 95112

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/05/09, 2:55 pm

Legal Answer


The police will not consider this a theft, since your friend got the computer with your consent. You can still tell this guy that is theft, and that you will sue him in small claims court if he does not give the computer back in two days. Or leave a written message at his place of business or his home with this same threat.

Joe Marman

Law Office of Joseph Marman
8421 Auburn Blvd. #145
Citrus Heights, CA 95610-0394

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search