California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
5/22/07, 4:00 pm

Legal Question


hit and run damage

My car was hit by a woman who left a note but has decided not to pay for the damage. I did not get her home address. She informed me her lawyer was going to handle it, and the lawyer now states we need to take her to small claims court. Can we serve her at her lawyer's office or do we have to hire somone to find her address? Are we entitled to re-embursment for that cost and the court cost fee? It is about $1000 worth of damage. Thank you.


Experienced Mesothelioma Attorneys - SEG Law

Simon, Eddins & Greenstone, LLP, (SEG Law) is one of the country's most prominent trial law firms specializing in representing victims of cancer caused from exposure to hazardous substances such as asbestos. The firm was built on a shared passion to diligently and compassionately serve each client through every step of the legal process.

For more information visit us at SEGlaw.com


question bubble
5/30/07, 5:57 pm

Legal Answer


Re: hit and run damage

Find her with a web site such as zabasearch. Since she (obviously) doesn't have auto insurance, file an SR-1 report with the DMV when you find out her address and her license will be suspended. When you win your case in small claims court you can recover your court costs.

Michael Stone

Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE 3020 Old Ranch Parkway, Suite 300 Seal Beach, CA 90740

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
5/30/07, 5:59 pm

Legal Answer


Re: hit and run damage

You should file an SR-1 with DMV. Follow that up with an SR-19 and the fee to get her address.

Then, ask her attorney to accept service on her behalf. If he says no, you have her address already and can serve her.

Then, sue her for the damage plus loss of use plus court costs. When you win, you will get you costs of filing and serving back.

For more on small claims court, email me at smallclaims@jonathangstein.com and ask for my free small claims court e-book.

Jonathan Stein

Law Offices of Jonathan G. Stein 5050 Laguna Blvd, Suite 112-325 Elk Grove, CA 95758

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search