California | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Hello Law Gurus,
I wanted to know about attorney obligations in regards to a car accident case. When I agreed to a 24k settlement in my accident case, there was a lien from Kaiser for 17k for the treatment it provided to me due to the accident. My attorney's fee was 40% of 24k. My attorney was also negotiating the lien with Kaiser, trying to reduce the amount. The negotiations between my attorney and Kaiser's attorney went for about 7months. Kaiser's attorney was not very responsive to calls or letters. My attorney then sent a final letter to Kaiser's attorney saying: "your non-response by certain date in this matter will be serve as an agreement to waive all liens against my client." Kaiser's attorney did not respond in time requested and my lawyer released all the funds to himself and me. My question is threefold:
1: Was my attorney allowed to make such an assumption or did they absolutely have to fully settle the lien with Kaiser before releasing all the funds?
2: Kaiser has now decided to after the lien, but my attorney refuses to represent me. Is this ethical and reason enough to complain to State Bar?
3: When Kaiser had a lien on the settlement amount, did they have a lien on only the portion that was paid out to me, or the whole amount that included attorney's fee?
Your expertise is much appreciated. Thank you very much.
Experienced Mesothelioma Attorneys - SEG Law
Simon, Eddins & Greenstone, LLP, (SEG Law) is one of the country's most prominent trial law firms specializing in representing victims of cancer caused from exposure to hazardous substances such as asbestos. The firm was built on a shared passion to diligently and compassionately serve each client through every step of the legal process.


