California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/13/01, 3:20 am

Legal Question


Legally, what can I do about my employee's liable and slander towards me?

I'm a male in my late twenties with eight years of service managing a group of union bargained-for employees ages 20s-60s and years of service 0-30+, in a Fortune 500 company. Office gossip and politics aside, one of them who is in her 50s with 30+ years of service is and has been saying things about me to others in the group, office, and to my peers and superiors that are untrue, unfounded, and I believe inreprehensible. She says I'm doing things to her and others that is age/sex discriminatory and violating union guidelines. This is now affecting my work, business relationships (including with my superiors), job performance; all of which are in serious jeopardy. I am currently seeing an EAP counselor for work-related stress. Is there anything legally I can do to stop her from continually attacking my character with liable and slander? Not all believe her, including her own union and peers, but one of my superiors does. I believe this is effecting my job performance rating - effectively my pay treatment, appraisal and promotability. Do I seek out an ombudsman, lawyer, or both? Help?


Experienced Mesothelioma Attorneys - SEG Law

Simon, Eddins & Greenstone, LLP, (SEG Law) is one of the country's most prominent trial law firms specializing in representing victims of cancer caused from exposure to hazardous substances such as asbestos. The firm was built on a shared passion to diligently and compassionately serve each client through every step of the legal process.

For more information visit us at SEGlaw.com


question bubble
10/17/01, 7:40 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Legally, what can I do about my employee's liable and slander towards me?

You should probably see an attorney to discuss your situation. If this person is making defamatory remarks about you (not just idle gossip), and you are not engaging in the conduct attributed to you, you may be able to file a grievance with the union, and ultimately a lawsuit against the employee.

Roy Hoffman

Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman PO Box 810 Moreno Valley, CA 92552

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search