California | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Liability for fatal stroke triggered by erroneous foreclosure notice by mortgage
M.R., (my mother) always paid her mortgage on time (final pay due June, 2000) via an automatic debit system set up by the Mortgage company. As payments were automatic debit, she was expecting mortgage company (GMAC) to acknowledge receipt of final payment on her mortgage. But,. instead of acknowledging final payment, she received foreclosure notice (caused by a ''glitch'' in GMAC's computer accounting system lost track of this payment). GMAC ruthless, not caring why automatic payment didn't work, noted payment not received by deadline in 5 days there would be foreclosure. Final payment $238 sent by registered mail. GMAC said proof of mailing date by USPS Registered Mail legally irrelevant, would foreclose if payment late. Afraid mail wouldn't get there in time, offered to pay by credit card by phone, they refused. At 85, my mother went into shock, extreme stress, condition worsened over the next several days as we hassled GMAC who acted like a criminal enterprise trying to take her home by contrived technicalities. On July 20, 00, she suffered stroke, taken to emergency hospital where she later died Aug 20, 00. Believe GMAC's accounting glitch contributed much to my mother's fatal stroke. Do I have grounds for a suite against GMAC?
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys
The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.


