California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
2/17/06, 8:44 pm

Legal Question


Motorcycle Accident

I accidently crashed my friends motorcycle into a parked car. He did not insist for me to pay for the damages, but about two months later he wanted 3,000 dollars. Can he take me to court and make me pay him?


Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys


question bubble
2/22/06, 9:37 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Motorcycle Accident

Of course he can. Why should he have to absorb the cost of damage you caused? The fact that he waited two months to ask for the money is a non-issue. He has plenty of time in which to sue you before the limitations period runs.

Edward Hoffman

Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/22/06, 9:39 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Motorcycle Accident

Probably. You can argue he waived all rights, but he probably later received a claim, didn't know it was coming, and now must seek indemnification from you. You had nothing in writing so the waiver argument is weakened and he may deny, further, any claim he didn't know he had can be revived.

Christopher M. Brainard, Esq.

Law Offices of C. M. Brainard -- (310) 266-4115 1715 Via El Prado, Unit 9 Redondo Beach, CA 90277

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/22/06, 10:06 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Motorcycle Accident

Yes.

David Lupoff

Law Offices of David B. Lupoff 15915 Ventura Blvd. Penthouse 4 Encino, CA 91436

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/23/06, 12:15 am

Legal Answer


Re: Motorcycle Accident

There might be a creative lawyer whose expert examines the motorcycle and opines that a defect in the bike caused it to crash. But probably, you'd have to pay the lawyer a lot more than the money you owe to your friend to support that defense!

Robert F. Cohen

Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search