California | Personal Injury
Legal Question
As a parent, can the injurer go after me to get the money?
My son had a car accident more than two years ago when he was half month to eighteen. He ran a red light and hit a car coming from his left. The passenger in the car suffered from kneed injuries and the driver was fine. At the time of the accident, my son was driving a car registered in his own name. His car insurance was with me and had a $100,000 liability at the time. The case went to a jury's trail last month because the injurer had asked for $65,000 in compensation but our insurance only willing to pay $60,000. We lost the case in the trail and the jury decided that we have to pay the injurer $200,000 - 3 times more than he had asked for. The lawyer from our insurance company told us that the insurance will only pay $100,000 and we have to pay the difference. He also said that the only thing my son can do is go bankrupt since my son has no money or access to pay for that.
My question is: As a parent, can the injurer go after me to get the money if my son claims bankruptcy? Does that my son was not yet 18 and his insurance with me at the time of the accident matter?
Experienced Mesothelioma Attorneys - SEG Law
Simon, Eddins & Greenstone, LLP, (SEG Law) is one of the country's most prominent trial law firms specializing in representing victims of cancer caused from exposure to hazardous substances such as asbestos. The firm was built on a shared passion to diligently and compassionately serve each client through every step of the legal process.


