California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/28/02, 11:33 pm

Legal Question


Son broke arm on school swingset

My 9 year old son broke his arm when one of the chain links broke apart while he was swinging at the school playground during school hours. The swingset is very old and rusty. His teacher said she and the janitor were just examining it and wondering about its safety. This is a charter school, and I'm wondering who is liable for this injury and how much to ask for damages. I don't know if school playground equipment is inspected by a professional or if each school is individually responsible.

Thank you.


Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys


question bubble
1/22/03, 1:32 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Son broke arm on school swingset

There are strict requirments for suing govermental entities, including a 6 month filing of a claim. Additionally, you have to look at the legal immunities, who maintained the swingset, etc.

JOEL SELIK

www.seliklaw.com

800-894-2889

Joel Selik

www.SelikLaw.com Box 1448 San Diego And Las Vegas, CA 92079

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/22/03, 1:36 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Son broke arm on school swingset

The school would be liable for their negligence, especially if they were aware of the dangerous condition of the swing. There are certain government immunities, but I don't think it would apply to this situation.

Steven Kuhn

Steven Kuhn 31878 Del Obispo Street Suite 118-360 San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/22/03, 1:39 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Son broke arm on school swingset

Your two questions -- who is liable and how much is the case worth -- go to the heart of what attorneys do. These questions cannot be properly answered without a full analysis of the circumstances and injury, including a review of the medical records.

You should enlist the help of a personal injury attorney to assist with your claim. Otherwise, you risk making your claim too early (before the full nature of the injuries can be known), or too late (after the claim filing period has passed), leaving out potentially liable parties, undervaluing your claim and/or settling the claim for inadequate compensation.

Jeffrey D. Olster

Russakow, Ryan & Johnson 225 S. Lake Avenue, 8th Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/22/03, 1:43 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Son broke arm on school swingset

I am interested in your case. If you would like an attorney on a contingency basis, and if you are in the Los Angeles-Greater Los Angeles area, feel free to give me a call. (818) 365-6445

Rob Reed

Law Office of Robert A. Reed 15233 VENTURA BLVD, SUITE 1010 Sherman Oaks, CA 91403

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/22/03, 2:02 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Son broke arm on school swingset

There are certain govt. guidelines which must be met. You should immediately talk to an experienced personal injury attorney.

I am experienced in suing school districts for student injuries. I will gladly talk with you about the matter. Please call me at (714) 835-7000. Thanks for your questions and good luck.

Sargis Atanous

LAW OFFICE OF SARGIS G. ATANOUS 1177 Branham Lane, #305 San Jose, CA 95118

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/22/03, 5:54 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Son broke arm on school swingset

Consult a qualified lawyer. These cases are very fact dependent. If there is a good case you can get a qualified lawyer to handle this on contingency.

Mitchell Roth

MW Roth, Professional Law Corporation 13245 Riverside Dr. Suite 320 Sherman Oaks, CA 91423

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/22/03, 9:50 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Son broke arm on school swingset

The others have given you the correct advice.

Alvin Tenner

Law Office of Alvin G. Tenner P.O. Box 7301 Northridge, CA 91327-7301

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search