California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/09/09, 4:50 pm

Legal Question


Hello,

I was wondering what is the 'industry standard' for contingency cases? My husband & I were involved in an auto collision; we contacted a lawyer that will charge 1/3 of recovery (40% if case goes to arbitration or trial) and fees are additional. This seems excessive to me; especially as charging unspecified fees (copy fees, etc.) are in addition to the 1/3 of settlement I see no motivation on the legal councils end to attempt to contain costs.

Please let me know if this is 'normal' or if my concerns are valid. If my concerns are valud where may I find legal representation that will not 'take us to the cleaners'


Experienced Mesothelioma Attorneys - SEG Law

Simon, Eddins & Greenstone, LLP, (SEG Law) is one of the country's most prominent trial law firms specializing in representing victims of cancer caused from exposure to hazardous substances such as asbestos. The firm was built on a shared passion to diligently and compassionately serve each client through every step of the legal process.

For more information visit us at SEGlaw.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search