California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/12/09, 3:01 pm

Legal Question


Over a year ago I went to a skating rink, rented their skates and as I was skating I fell down and broke my ankle. My fracture was at the end of the skating shoe.

Their was no liablity waiver sign at all at this location.

My question is is the skating rink responsible for my injury? and if so is their an attorney who can take on this case?


Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys


question bubble
11/17/09, 3:15 pm

Legal Answer


Such injuries are an inherent risk in skating. Under a doctrine known as assumption of the risk, you cannot hold the rink liable for a normal skating-related injury. That you happened to be at a particular rink when you fell does not mean the rink is responsible.

However, if you can show that the rink *caused* your injury through its unreasonably negligent actions, you may have a case. If it failed to properly maintain the ice or the skates, for example, then the resulting injury may not have resulted from the usual risks of skating. Your question offers no reason to believe this is what happened, but it also doesn't rule out the possibility.

Edward Hoffman

Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search