California  |  Product Liability

question bubble
11/06/09, 1:26 pm

Legal Question


The engine of my Ford Escort broke and had it repaired for $3,000. They changed it with another used engine for $3,000. Not even 2,000 miles later, this used engine blew up. Now, I had to pay another $1,900 to get this engine repaired. Is there anything I can do to get my $3,000 back from an obviously bad engine. I have paid almost $5,000 for an engine that should have been repaired correctly in the first place. Please help. My finances are suffering because of the lost of this huge sum of money.


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


question bubble
11/11/09, 4:34 pm

Legal Answer


What guarantee did they give you and why did the engine blow up? Was it was some how your fault or was it something they did. Most reputable places will guarantee their work for a period of time. If they did not give you a guarantee, you are probably out of luck unless they made some false promises about how good the engine was.

Also if they negligently performed some work that caused it to blow up then you can sue them, but if it was because of some defect the motor due to the fact it was used and they made no promises then you are out of luck.

Next time get a guarantee.

Sorry but I hope that helps and good luck to you.

Melvin C. Belli

The Belli Law Firm 35 Miller Ave Suite 199 Mill Valley, CA 94941

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search