California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/12/01, 10:55 pm

Legal Question


30 day notice to quit

I have been living with my fiancee for over 20 years.Getting married has always been put on the back burner due to one crisis or another--added to the fact that we have numerous disagreements and arguments.

The most recent crisis between us is the fact that his 21 year old daughter moved in over a year ago and

does not help financially, physically or socially in the well being of the household. I have flat out told her I will not tolerate her rudeness and laziness.

She then went to her father, crying about how horrible I am, and that she hates me and coming home.

Her father has sided with her and has told me he is going to serve me with a 30 day notice to quit.

Since we never had a written rental or lease agreement and I have always lived with him as his ''partner'' not a tenant--how could he possibly serve me a notice to quit on something I ''never

started?''

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I am at my

wits end about this whole fiasco!!

SS


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search