California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Automatic Renewal Clause in Lease
Hi there,
My lease for my business in an executive suite expired last month. It was a one year lease. I just gave notice that I am leaving January 31st of 2005, today is December 1st, 2004 (60 day notice). The leasing manager told me that my one year lease had ''automatically renewed'' to another one year lease, at a 120% rate increase, becuase I didn't give notice before the end of the original lease. I did not know this was in my lease. Sure enough, it was in there when i looked, but your website said that if it wasn't bolded in the lease contract that it wasn't binding.
Can they hold me to another one year? This doesn't seem legal as it was buried in page 6 of 9 of my lease and it wasn't bolded or capitalized or italicized in any way to bring attention to it.
Please let me know if you can be of any help.


