California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/06/04, 9:38 pm

Legal Question


What does Bankruptcy protect and what do I do?

I grow grapes on 40 acres. Due to health and a potentially expensive law suit, I filed and was discharged in Bankruptcy (BK) in 8/04. I have be unable to make the 1st or 2nd note payments for 4 months. The property (P) was discharged. I now am able to make the payments and would like to keep the property. I offered the 2nd note holder $225K for the $450K note and could refi the first at a good rate. The $225K would come from a refi of the 1st. The 2nd note holder declined and threaten ''judical foreclosure (JF)'' to recover any deficiency. The property's FMV is less than the total of the two notes. ($800K vs $1.05M)

- Does the (BK) protect me against (JF)?

- If I SELL the (P), am I still protected?

- The 1st refi offer is about to expire, any suggestions?

- If the 2nd forecloses, is he responsibile for the 1st payments, current and past due?

- If the due date of the 1st is one year away and the 1st forecloses on the 2nd, is he out of luck on his $450K note?

- Who would you recomend to me as my attorney for this sitution?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search