Re: Building permit
In the final analysis I'd have to say the purchaser.
The seller has a statutory obligation to disclose any
problems, for example, a non-permitted addition. But, the buyer will be charged with notice of anything that a reasonably prudent inspection would
have disclosed. This is especially true if something the buyer sees raises a question.
Most buyers engage a homebuyer's inspection service to assist them in doing an inspection. Most inspection services will not research building permits, but limit their inspection to what they can observe in and around the home, without conducting destructive testing.
If you have suspicions, pose the question directly to the seller. An experienced contractor can often tell if there's been an addition. If the eveidence is there, demand a copy of the permit. Also, have your broker research permits at building and safety.
Remember, at some point you'll want to sell the property in question, and you'll be under the same affirmative obligation to disclose. I urge buyers that I talk to be aggressive when they investigate the home they'll buy. Don't passsively rely on the seller and the seller's broker to tell you everything you need to know. If you have the slightest suspicion, investigate!
Best of luck, and now the inmevitable caveat: The foregoing information is provided as an accomodation only and does not constitute a legal opinion based on review of all relevant facts and documents and research of applicable law. Further, provision of the information shall not be construed to create an attorney-client relationship.
Best Regards,
Tom Newton