California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
5/20/08, 1:28 am

Legal Question


Why would a buyer offer more than asking price?

I have a small townhouse for sale.

It's been for sale on and off for 3

years, and finally, I lowered the

asking price to $152,000 and finally

got an offer. However, the offer is for

$159,000--more than the asking

price, with the condition that I pay

forty-five hundred dollars toward the

down-payment AND pay forty-five

hundred dollars toward the buyer's

closing costs. My realtor told this is

because the buyer doesn't have a

decent down-payment & all. I really

want to sell this place, so do I take

this offer? Is this a ''normal but real

creative'' offer in these times? Would

I pay taxes on the selling price of

$159,000 even though the real price

(after I pay out $9000 to sell it)

would be $150,000??? Thanks for

any help! I don't know anyone savvy

to ask, and my realtor is doing one of

those ''dual relationship'' things.

Please please help, and thank you!!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search