California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/28/05, 1:57 am

Legal Question


Buying my brother out of shared property

Our mother,who passed away Feb 05 had already given us her house as tenants in common. Because of the location on the Central Coast(65 degrees year-round) I wanted to buy my brother's half out for my health, but to do that I would have to sell my house. He agreed. He sent me an email with all the figures and the bottom line of how much he wanted for his half. It took me 2 mos.to upgrade my house before sale. Now July 27,I'm having to vacate my house in 2 days, escrow closes in 8 days and he says he wants more money because he thinks the house on the coast has appreciated and he isn't willing to let me make any money. He now says he will give me the money I would have given him or we should sell the coastal house. I was raised in this house, the neighborhood is safe and I need the coast for my heath. (I live in Fresno where it's 100+ degrees and I get migraines almost daily from the heat). Question: 1)Can I just move into the Coastal house and refuse to sign anything to let him sell it, tell him we had a deal. He broke an email contract (it wasn't signed) 2) If he takes me to court, would I have 1st chance to buy the house at appraised value? 3)Can I back out of selling my house in Fresno or is it too late? Thanks for your advice.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search