California  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/31/13, 3:30 am

In California is a one year rental lease valid if the title owner of the

house did not sign it?

My father signed it for me, because I was not there, and I did not give him the power of attorney to sign for me nor is it in the lease.

Do it revert to a month to month tenancy because they are in the house now?

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/31/13, 9:12 am by Anthony Roach

No, it is a valid lease. A court would most likely find that your father signed it as the ostensible agent of you. (Civ. Code, 2300.)


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/31/13, 10:25 am by Bryan Whipple

I agree. Lots of leases are negotiated and signed by the agent of the owner, rather than the owner. Further, even if someone is not "officially" an agent of the owner, if they are "ostensibly" an agent, that suffices. If the lease causes you substantial hardship, you might try attacking the ostensible agency as not meeting the criteria set up in the Civil Code (section 2300). The outcome of such a lawsuit would depend upon facts and circumstances going well beyond what's given in your question. A power of attorney is unnecessary and would be unusual.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/31/13, 12:44 pm by John Laurie

I agree with the above. On a more practical note if is is found invalid they may go after your dad for damages.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

8627 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search