California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/24/00, 1:12 am

Legal Question


changing title on a home

A friend owns his home, and wants to put his new wife on the title. The mortgage company says he must refinance in order to have his wife listed as a co-owner. Is this correct? His son is the named executor of his estate (that may change), and my friend wants to make sure that his wife gets the house in the event of his death without having to fight with the son. Since California is a community property state, will his wife automatically get the house without her name on the title? Any information on changing title would be appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search