California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/08/04, 5:13 pm

Legal Question


contractor property lien

A licensed contractor fails to complete the last 10% (est) of a home remodeling contract. He underestimated his costs and he used non-professional employees/sub contractors. The contractor ''walks away'' and files a ''lien''. But he is clearly not entitled to be paid for work not done or workmanship of very poor quality.

1) how does the homeowner get rid of the lien?

2) does a court judge decide if the lien is valid?

3) Are there time limits to filing papers?

4) what are the papers to be filed?

5) what is the basic legal process of filing a lien, proving the contractor is not entitled, and eliminating it?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search