California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 1:06 am

Legal Question


My dad and mom want to give me their home. When my mom dies, Medicare will take the home, so they want to give it to me, but continue to live in it until they die. It is worth about $100,000, I think. My wife and I have three kids (two are under 18).

Can they do this? What are the tax ramifications? I think they can give each of us a $13,000 interest in the house apiece this year and next, right?


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search