California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
5/11/00, 9:15 pm

Legal Question


Three day notice to perform conditions and/or covenants or quit

I rented an apartment in August 1999. Upon move-in, security deposit of $400.00 dollars was paid as well as 1st month's rent $440.00. Upon move in I did not have a pet and was told by the manager that there was a pet deposit provision if pets are aquired but that it is not uniformly enforced in the complex and I have personal knowledge of other tennants that have pets but have not been required to pay a pet deposit. I recently purchased a small dog and have now received a three day notice to perform conditions and/or covenants or quit. They are requiring an additional $400.00 deposit. 1) Am I obligated to pay the pet deposit if it is not enforced to everyone and 2) is the amount of pet deposit requested exorbant based on monthly rent of $450.00 which reflects a recent increase by the property owner/manager and 3) what does the clause on the three day notice "You are further notified that the owner/agent hereby elects to declare the forfeiture of your rental agreement/lease under which you hold posession of the above noted premises......


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search